Regret vs. Mistake

I went out with a group of friends last night to celebrate the upcoming birthday, wedding party for a friend.  She said how happy she was to have friends like us since with all of her mistakes we were still friends.  My friend T brought up my “mistake” I thought she was referring to my ex and the fact that he is in my life in the manner that he is.  I now realize she meant Supergirl.

Supergirl is not a mistake.  I never considered her a mistake.

I have regrets about the relationship I have with L&B, the situation that is our relationship.

I regret not seeing her in the hospital.

I regret not keeping her in my room when the nurse brought her in for a feeding and I freaked out and just yelled to get her out of my room.

I regret that I am not a stronger person for letting this happen in the first place.

I regret that I am not a stronger person to demand and ask for what I want.

I regret that I allow myself to be a door mate to my ex.

I regret that I didn’t ask for help earlier.

I regret that I feel like I do and need to write this.

So while I have regrets — Supergirl was never and will never be a mistake.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kim.kim
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 00:00:06

    My daughter wasn’t a mistake either. I am learning to duck and weave my way into not letting the regrets filter in. I keep regrets at bay on a daily basis.

  2. lhjh4
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 00:33:12

    I keep doing that every day as well. Somedays are so much easier then others but that goes with everything else.

  3. Jamie
    Sep 02, 2007 @ 05:13:13

    I totally agree with you about your daughter not being a mistake. I feel the same way… ((((Huggs)))

  4. Coco
    Sep 05, 2007 @ 00:12:11

    Oooh. I feel a post of my own coming on about this.

    (((Hugs)))

    Hang in.

Leave a Reply

