For Supergirl

I held you but once

before I let you go.

but I wanted you to know

that – yes, I did care.

 

The tears that I shed

were because you were here and

also because you

wouldn’t be near.

 

You would reach for another

who would hold you close.

While I looked on from across the starry sky.

 

Everytime I see you

Whether in pictures or in person

I see your dimple.

Some days are so hard

when I just want to cry and hide.

 

But I continue to fight and cry

because I cannot wait to see:

The baby you were

The toddler you’re becoming

The girl you will be

& The woman you were meant to be.

 

 

for her second birthday

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. zxczxcasdasd
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 08:57:41

    also beautiful

Leave a Reply

