Supergirl’s Box

There is a small box

in a corner of a drawer

That I try not to go into anymore.

 

The bottle that fed you,

The blanket that held you,

The first photo of you

before you were born.

The photo of us from the hospital floor

The bracelets from my wrist that held you name:

~Baby Girl~ nevermore.

 

Somedays I cannot open the drawer

but it holds a little box.

And in that little box,

It contains a piece of my heart.

 

One day in the future

I know not when

I will open the drawer

and pull out a small box

And I will tell you about….

 

The time that I held you,

The time that I fed you,

and the many times I told you that

I Love You.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thanksgivingmom
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 01:44:26

    I do NOT write poetry…and after reading this I know it’s because I can’t do it as well as people like you!

    These are beautiful!

  2. zxczxcasdasd
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 08:57:08

    beautiful.

  3. coleybelle
    Dec 17, 2007 @ 17:22:41

    Oh Leigh, I love this poem.

Leave a Reply

