All My Children

I have watched soap operas/day time television for years.  I have grown up with Ryan’s Hope before it became Loving.  All My Children, One Life To Live and General Hospital.  I have grown up with Erica Kane and all of her marriages, affairs, jobs and divorces.  Adam Chandler and Palmer Cortland.  and the famous Luke and Laura wedding.

Then there is the saga of Tad and Dixie from AMC.  A number of years ago Dixie left, she was pregnant.  There was an accident.  There was the evil doctor who convinced her that she wouldn’t live and so see signed away her rights to parent her child.  The child, Kate/Kathy, then was adopted illegally (no surprise there).

Fast forward.

Kate/Kathy is back in Pine Valley being raised by her Aunt Julia as her parents passed away last year from an accident.  Tad and Kathy connected from day one.  They got along great and had a great time together.  Dixie is now dead, Tad is looking for his Kate.  There is a shooting and now Tad is injured and Julia is dead.

Long story short.  Tad just recently found out that Kathy is his Kate.  He wondered how he was going to tell her that he is her Dad.  His adoptive father, Joe, told him the words would come to him.  Another long story there.  But for those who know the show know the story.

He did it.  I was in tears.  It was done great.  I had to call my friend Coley and let her know and told her to have a tissue with her.

Interested in seeing how this continues.  So I will continue to watch the saga that goes on in Pine Valley, PA.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brown325
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 11:33:33

    I grew up on the ABC soaps too!!! Admittedly, I don’t watch them anymore (damn 9-5 job!) but I do follow some stories off the TV Guide roundups, and sometimes catch them on Soap Net.

    I LOVE Tad. Always have since his days with Hillary (remember that??? They were in high school!!!) and I’ll never forget to this day the day Jenny died in the water skiing accident!I’m sure however he did it was awesome. I forgot he was adopted, tho I vaguely remember his bio dad being the Pine Valley resident “bad seed”. I have to go look it up online (you can do that on the AMC website, get character back stories) Why do I want to say Opal is his birthmom???

    Talk about bad adoption storylines, do you remember Kelsey and Bobby back in the early 90’s? She had Sam and placed him with Maria and Edmond and then they made her go all psycho b-mom?? It was right when I had placed. It sucked. I prayed AM didn’t watch that soap.

  2. lhjh4
    Jun 15, 2008 @ 20:18:30

    Opal is his birthmom and Ray Gardner is the “bad seed” papa. Talk about a reunion between Opal and Tad and the way they are get along with Ruth and Joe!!!! I have always loved Tad the Cad. OMG him and Hillary and Jenny’s accident. All though Greg was back in town for Angie and Jessie’s wedding (yes you read right, Jessie is back from the dead!)
    I forgot about Kelsey and Bobby?!?! damn college!! LOL

  3. coleybelle
    Jun 20, 2008 @ 21:36:23

    I am so glad you called and warned me to have tissues out. I was crying. It was very touching.

    I think the Kelsey and Bobby stuff was going on around the time I started watching. I do remember something going on with Sam. My mom got me into the ABC soaps one summer when I was in high school.

    Now, I’m all into that OLTL story line. There’s parts that I like and parts that I don’t. Are you following it?

    We played phone tag again today woman! We just can’t seem to connect! LOL

Leave a Reply

